Originally owned by Midland & Coast as a horse drawn boat.
1929 Built by Chrichtons at Saltney Dock (nr Chester, R. Dee)
1936 July. Converted to a motor boat at Fisher’s dockyard, Old Hill. 18hp Petter engine fitted.
1937 July. M&CCC Ltd sold to Fellows, Morton & Clayton Ltd (fleet no 349)
1943 February. Forecabin removed at F.M.C. Saltley Dock.
1946 May. Sold to Ernest Thomas (Walsall) Ltd.
11th September. Re-gauged for B.C.N. no 2257. Ran with butty ‘Birchills’ - skipper Frankie Dumbelow, mainly coal from Brownhills to Birchley Rolling Mills, Oldbury..
1951 January. Shortened (by Harris’s at Netherton) to 56 feet and re-gauged (10th Jan - same no.) Fordson engine fitted. Now a tug, No 3 (?) in fleet.
1968 Approx. Sold to Norton Canes Dockyard, Pelsall, Walsall
1970 Purchased to operate on L&L Canal (‘Apollo Canal Cruises’) and converted to a 34 (later 48, then 39) seat passenger boat. Ailsa Craig RL2 20 hp diesel engine fitted. Replaced 1973 by Ford 4D, 57 hp diesel, and in 1974 by present Lister HRW2MGR2 29 hp diesel.
1989 New steel bottom fitted at Leeds.
1998 August. On charter to new owners of Apollo Canal Cruises. To A&G Passenger Boats, Sheffield from Sept 2003, to Bluewater Experience Ltd, Yeading, from 2007, to J. Bosomworth (Pooley Hall) from April 2008, to Dream Achievers Ltd at Shipley wharf from 2009, to Leeds River Trips from 2012 (12 seats), then (2014) Canal Connections of Leeds as a Community boat.
Currently being restored.
The boat was registered three times:
Wolverhampton 1130 on 08/07/1929
Wolverhampton 1147 on 15/09/1936
Birmingham 1626 on 19/02/1943
It was also registered three times with BCN:
1490 on 15/05/1929
1917 on 17/07/1936
2257 on 11/09/1946