Skip to content Skip to navigation


The Club makes two Awards - usually annually - to persons or bodies, not necessarily members or the craft's owners, who have made distinctive progress in the restoration of an historic boat.  The trophies are presented at the following year's Annual General Meeting.  

HNBC's Chairman, Phil Prettyman, presented the trophies at the club's AGM in March 2017, and at the Alvecote Gathering in August 2017. 

Keay Award 2016 - Dane


Keay Award winner 


Phil presents the trophy to Kevin Rush of the Narrow Boat Heritage Foundation
with Ade Polglase and Andy Cox of AP Boatbuilding


Hemelryk Award 2016 - joint winners 

Enterprise No 1 and Effingham

Hemelryk award winner 

 Enterprise No 1 - Phil presents the trophy to Bernard Hales and Howard Worth

    Presentation of trophy to Effingham
    Effingham - Phil presents the trophy to Dev Sheppherd at the Alvecote gathering as Bernard looks on

The Keay Award for wooden narrow boats

Ken Keay built and repaired wooden boats at his boatyard in Walsall and was the last of the traditional wooden boatbuilders on the Birmingham Canal Navigations.

Winners of the Keay Award


The Hemelryk Award 
for iron/steel/composite narrow boats

John Hemelryk was the long-time owner of ex-FMC Peacock and was renowned for maintaining it to an exceptionally high and original standard.

Winners of the Hemelryk Award

CLOSING DATE FOR THE 2017 AWARDS:   30 November 2017.

Here are the Nomination forms: PDF document or Word document. The terms of entry are on page 2 of each version.